BrightHire candidate information and interviews can be deleted easily on any cadence your organization would like. To set a deletion policy for BrightHire recordings, navigate to the Data Retention tab. If you do not see the Data Retention tab, please ask your CSM to activate it for you.

Here you can configure your desired data deletion cadence based on the criteria of your choosing. We can support a number of cadences: days since candidate was hired, days since candidate was rejected, days since candidate's last interview, and days since any interview. We can also support automatically triggering deletion directly from your ATS: delete candidate data when it is anonymized in Greenhouse, delete candidate data when it is anonymized in Lever.

Under Notification Settings, enter the BrightHire users who should receive the data deletion notification. These are the users that will be completing the deletion - only BrightHire Site Admins can be added to the recipients list.

Add a time when you would like the notification to go out, and select the days on which it will be sent. Notifications will be sent weekly on the selected days if there are interviews that meet the deletion criteria.

When any checked criteria is matched, an email will be sent to the users on the Recipients list. This email will link them to either the Candidates or Interviews tab of the Data Retention section.

When a candidate is deleted, all corresponding interviews and metadata are automatically deleted. When just an interview is deleted, any existing candidate information, metadata, and the rest of their interviews will still live in BrightHire.

You can easily delete all candidates or interviews that have met your retention policy by pressing the red Delete All button on the right side of the screen.

When you're ready to delete, you will click "Yes" in the confirmation modal, then you are done! It may take a few minutes for all of the data to be deleted and to be reflected in the UI upon refresh.

If you would like to delete a single candidate or interview, click on their name to visit the Interview or Candidate Details page and use the delete button.

If you would like to keep a candidate past the retention policy (for example, if your organization would like to use the content for training), visit their page by clicking on their name and click "Prevent Deletion." This will prevent the candidate from being deleted, and ensure the content is not put on the deletion list again. To have the candidate show up in the deletion list for the next data deletion cycle, click "Allow Deletion."

If you would like to keep an interview past the retention policy (for example, if your organization would like to use the content for training), visit the interview page by clicking on its name and click "Prevent Deletion." This will prevent the interview from being deleted, and ensure the content is not put on the deletion list again. To have the interview show up in the deletion list for the next data deletion cycle, click "Allow Deletion."

Important Notes:

  • All identifying information will be deleted as part of this feature, but anonymized pieces of the data are retained to inform your organization's analytics.

  • You must delete candidate data in the ATS before deleting it in BrightHire. If a candidate is later updated in the ATS, some of their metadata could resurface in BrightHire.

Did this answer your question?